When women earned the right to vote around the world

1893 - New Zealand

- 1902 Australia*
- 1906 Finland
- 1913 Norway
- 1915 Denmark
- **1917 Canada****
- 1918 Austria, Germany,
- Poland, Russia, Britain***
- 1919 Netherlands
- 1920 United States
- **1921 Sweden**
- 1928 Ireland
- 1930 South Africa****
- 1931 Spain
- **1934 Turkey**
- **1944** France
- 1945 Italy

1947 - Argentina, Japan, Mexico, Pakistan **1949** - China **1950 - India** 1954 - Colombia 1957 - Malaysia, Zimbabwe **1962** - Algeria 1963 - Iran, Morocco **1964** - Libya **1967** - Ecuador 1971 - Switzerland 1972 - Bangladesh **1974 - Jordan** 1976 - Portugal **1989 - Namibia** 1990 - Western Samoa 1993 - Kazakhstan,

Moldova 2005 - Kuwait 2006 - United Arab Emirates

2011 - Saudi Arabia**** *Only Australian women won the right to vote in 1902. Other women didn't

win the vote until 60 years later. **Canadian women won the vote in 1917. Indians who lived in Canada didn't win it until 1960.

***Only women who were over 30, married and met certain property conditions could vote in 1918. 10 years later, all women over 21 could vote.

****White South African women won the vote in 1930, but black women could not vote until 1990. *****Women didn't get an

opportunity to vote until December 2015.